Faculty Recognitions Week 2018

October 2018

The week of October 8, 2018, was Faculty Recognitions Week in the Emory University School of Medicine. The Department of Surgery was well represented in this celebration of faculty accomplishments and excellence in patient care, research, and education.

Senior Promotions


Michael Halkos, MD, and Shishir Maithel, MD.

Associate Professor:

Andrew Adams, MD, PhD, John Calvert, PhD, Bradley Leshnower, MD, Bryan Morse, MD, Maria Russell, MD, Marty Sellers, MD, MPH, and Patrick Sullivan, MD.

Excellence in Patient Satisfaction

Children's Healthcare of Atlanta:

Guillermo Escobar, MD, Robert Fang, MD, Kirk Kanter, MD, Steven Roser, DMD, MD, Stephanie Walsh, MD, and Mark Wulkan, MD, were recognized for achieving Connect patient satisfaction survey scores of 100% for either overall visit rating or product of rating by CHOA during the period of 9/1/17 – 8/31/18.

The Emory Clinic:

Carla Haack, MD, finished above the Division of General and GI Surgery's goal, as well as within the top 1% for her specialty, nationwide, on FY18 Press Ganey Clinician and Group Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CG-CAHPS) surveys.

Grady Memorial Hospital:

The Inpatient 3B Burn Unit, Inpatient Critical Care 5B, and Surgery Clinic Team, all of which include Emory Surgery physicians and staff, were recognized for exceeding their stretch goals as reported by Press Ganey patient satisfaction scores for CYTD 2018 (Q1-Q2).

Excellence in Research

Craig Coopersmith, MD, Robert Guyton, MD, Michael Halkos, MD, and William Wood, MD, were inducted into the MilliPub Club, which honors and recognizes current Emory faculty who have published one or more individual papers throughout their careers that have each garnered more than 1000 citations. Such a paper is commonly considered a "citation classic" and represents high impact scholarship.

Additional Recognition

Woodruff Leadership Academy

Patrick Sullivan MD, was included in the Woodruff Leadership Academy (WLA) Fellows for 2019. WLA fellows are chosen via a rigorous selection process from nominees throughout the health sciences. The WLA combines a program of classroom sessions, off-site team projects, and weekend retreats to motivate professionals and managers within the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center to develop, exercise, and strengthen individual leadership potential. Read more about the WLA.

Hidden Gem

Omar Lattouf, MD, was recognized as a Hidden Gem. These faculty members are nominated by their departments in recognition of their outstanding, but often unnoticed or unrecognized, contributions to Emory or beyond. In the words of John Sweeney, MD, Emory Surgery Department Chair:

"Dr. Lattouf treasures his teaching and training role, particularly mentoring residents and watching them mature into capable surgeons, often becoming highly respected surgeon-leaders that are recognized and respected nationally and internationally. Furthermore, he was tasked with mentoring Emory junior faculty and clinical staff during the very successful re-launching of CT Surgery at Grady Memorial Hospital after its temporary interruption."

"On the community level, six years ago, he co-founded a community-based mentorship program to guide high school and college students interested in pursuing higher education in health sciences and related fields. This initiative has served over 500 young learners, several of whom have since been accepted to medical schools."

View the full list of 2018 Emory School of Medicine Faculty Recognitions recipients here.

«« return to top