Top Surgery News

2020 Department of Surgery Annual Report

Cover of the 2020 Emory Surgery Annual Report

Review our departmental milestones, achievements, new faculty, and faculty distinctions in 2020.

Read the Report >>

Also in the News:

Gary Bouloux to lead multi-center study of metal hypersensitivity following TMJR

SORG Grant funds Dina Amin's work on orbital trauma and reconstruction

Lily Yang receives R01 to develop nanoparticle-driven immunotherapy (study description in NIH RePORTER)

Bariatric Midtown team wins GA Hospital Association 2021 Patient Safety & Quality Award

Emory-produced COVID-19 Community & Healthcare Facility Checklists for low resource settings now available

More News >>

Faculty Spotlights

Wendy Greene, MD

Wendy R. Greene, MD

Dr. Greene is the director of the Acute and Critical Care Surgery Service of Emory University Hospital and an attending in the hospital's Surgical Intensive Care Unit.

Her postgraduate training included a surgical critical care fellowship at Washington Hospital Center and a trauma critical care fellowship at INOVA Fairfax Hospital.

Prior to Emory, Dr. Greene served as an associate professor of surgery at Howard University College of Medicine and associate director of the division of trauma and surgical critical care at Howard University Hospital, which received an American College of Surgeons Level 1 Trauma Center designation during her tenure.

Dr. Greene's Faculty Profile >>

Kenneth Cardona, MD

Ken Cardona, MD

Dr. Cardona is associate chief of surgery and co-chair of the Gastrointestinal Oncology Working Group at Emory University Hospital Midtown, and leads the Sarcoma Working Group at Winship Cancer Institute.

Dr. Cardona completed two fellowships, the first in transplant immunology at the Emory Transplant Center and the second in surgical oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

As chair of the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group and principal investigator of the United States Sarcoma Collaborative, Dr. Cardona leads national research efforts in the study of sarcoma. Internationally, he is an active member of the multi-institutional TransAtlantic Retroperitoneal Sarcoma Working Group and Desmoid Working Group.

Dr. Cardona's Faculty Profile >>

Trainee Spotlights

Charles Frank joins BARDA to support sepsis research

Charles Frank

PGY-3 resident Charles Frank, MD, has been named a medical advisor to the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA). He will primarily be assessing the cost and disease burden of sepsis in Medicare beneficiaries in an effort to inform potential interventions and solutions to the potentially life-threatening condition.


Black History Month Medical Honoree: Dr. LaSalle D. Leffall

The Price of CourAGE: The Legacy of Dr. LaSalle Leffall

For Black History Month, Emory Surgery collaborated with the Thomas F. Dodson Surgical History Society to highlight African American academic surgery pioneer LaSalle D. Leffall Jr., MD. The resulting interactive eBook was created by Emory general surgery residents Emeka Ndubisi, MD, Brendan Lovasik, MD, and Jeroson Williams, MD.