Final Report: 2017 Annual William C. Wood Research Symposium

Department of Surgery faculty with the 2017 WCW Symposium winners and keynote speaker

Above, left to right: Craig Coopersmith (vice chair of research, Emory Surgery), Benjamin Flink (symposium winner), Nicole Turgeon (director of extramural studies, Emory Surgery), William Wood (professor of surgery emeritus), Lauren Postlewait (symposium winner), John Sweeney (chair of Emory Surgery), David Mathews (symposium winner), Melina Kibbe (keynote speaker), Steven Kim (symposium winner).

The 16th Annual William C. Wood Research Symposium showcased the basic and clinical science research of the Emory Department of Surgery's students, postdocs, residents, and fellows, and was held on March 30 from 7:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. in the Emory University Hospital Auditorium. The keynote speaker was Melina R. Kibbe, MD, Zach D. Owens Professor of Surgery and Chair, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and her lecture was entitled "Sex Bias in Biomedical Research."

Following the lecture, the oral and poster presentations were held. Cash awards were given for the first and second place oral presentations in the clinical and basic science categories, as well as awards for the top poster in each category. All winners were invited to attend lunch with Dr. Kibbe and Emory Surgery faculty immediately following the symposium.

The 2017 William C. Wood Research Symposium winners were:

Steven Kim, MD, Most Outstanding Basic Science Oral Presentation for "CD4 depletion is necessary and sufficient for long-term pig-to-nonhuman primate xenotrasplant survival." Dr. Kim is a general surgery resident doing the second year of his research sabbatical in the transplant immunology research lab of Andrew Adams, MD, PhD.

Lauren Postlewait, MD, Most Outstanding Clinical Science Oral Presentation for "Proposal for a new T-Stage classification system for distal cholangiocarcinoma: A 10-institution study from the U.S. Extrahepatic Biliary Malignancy Consortium." Dr. Postlewait is a PGY3 general surgery resident who recently completed a two-year research sabbatical under the mentorship of surgical oncologist-scientist Shishir Maithel, MD.

David Mathews, Most Outstanding Basic Science Poster for "Costimulation independent acute rejection requires CD127 signaling T cells." Mr. Mathews is a 5th year MD/PhD student working in the transplant immunology research lab of Andrew Adams, MD, PhD.

Benjamin Flink, MD, Most Outstanding Clinical Science Poster for "Comparing the utility of the American Joint Committee on Cancer 7th and 8th Edition Staging for Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma with and without neoadjuvant therapy." Dr. Flink is a PGY3 general surgery resident who worked with clinical oncology and health services researcher Theresa Gillespie, PhD, during his 2016 research sabbatical.

The Emory Surgery Research Advisory Committee, which plans and manages the symposium, thanks all that were involved in making the 2017 installment a success, congratulates the winners and all of the presenters, and is already looking forward to the 2018 symposium.

««return to top