Emory Surgery Faculty among Emory School of Medicine honorees

October 2020

Emory School of Medicine faculty, including members of the Department of Surgery, were honored for achievements in patient care, research, and education during the annual Faculty Recognitions Week, October 26-30. On October 28, the 7th Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence was held virtually to celebrate all of these accomplishments and to present this year's recipients with various awards as nominated by the School of Medicine Recognitions Committee.

Excellence in Patient Satisfaction & Site Based Awards

Kurt Heiss, MD, and Jonathan Meisel, MD, were recognized for achieving NRC patient experience survey scores of 95% or higher for either overall visit rating or overall provider rating by Children's Healthcare of Atlanta during the period of 5/1/19 – 5/1/20.

At the Emory Clinic, Glen Balch, MD, John Galloway, MD, Douglas Murphy, MD, and Joe Sharma, MD, met or exceeded their divisions' FY20 goals and achieved the 99th percentile for the fiscal year and received at least 60 returned surveys.

Craig Coopersmith, MD, was a member of the ICU team recognized by the Emory Clinic for providing excellent patient care while placing themselves at risk.

Millipub Inductees

Dr. Coopersmith and Keith Delman, MD, were inducted into the MilliPub Club, which honors and recognizes current Emory faculty who have published one or more individual papers throughout their careers that have each garnered more than 1,000 citations.

Dr. Coopersmith's paper was "Surviving Sepsis Campaign: International Guidelines for Management of Sepsis and Septic Shock: 2016," Intensive Care Med, 2017 Mar;43(3):304-377; and Dr. Delman's was "Genomic Classification of Cutaneous Melanoma," Cell, 2015 Jun 18;161(7):1681-96.

Hidden Gem

Randi Smith, MD, was recognized as a Hidden Gem for her contributions to Emory and beyond. In the words of John Sweeney, MD, Emory Surgery Department Chair:

"As a surgeon who spends a lot of time in the Emergency Department, Dr. Smith sees every type of problem, from gunshot wounds to serious COVID19 illness. Her dedication to quality patient care at Grady and her work to build teams to deliver such care is impressive on its own, but she has also pursued the roots of gun violence at Grady and surrounding communities, both to elucidate its causes, but more notably, to explore meaningful ways to reduce and prevent it. She has written both institutional and extramural grants to obtain support for novel research about gun violence prevention. Most importantly, she continues to demonstrate single-minded focus on the needs of the Grady population and other underserved groups who remain most vulnerable and impacted by violence, particularly gun violence."

Additional SOM Awards

Maria Russell, MD, received a Dean's Teaching Award; Wendy Greene, MD, was honored with an Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award; and Keith Delman, MD, received a SOM Mentoring Award.

Regional, National, and International Awards

William Jordan, Jr., MD: President, Society of Clinical Vascular Surgery

Richard Ricketts, MD: 2020 Arnold Salzberg Mentorship Award, American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Section on Surgery (SOSu)

Joe Sharma, MD: Elected Member, National Quality Forum's Common Formats Expert Panel

Robert Smith, MD: Lifetime Achievement Award, Society of Clinical Vascular Surgery

Jahnavi Srinivasan, MD: Philip J. Wolfson Outstanding Teacher Award, Association for Surgical Education